Qualifying Complete For Reining Individual Finals At Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games

Posted in 2010 Games, Disciplines, Reining, Results, World Equestrian Games at 3:30 am by Press Release

Lexington, Ky., Set. 28 — Great Britain dominated the second individual qualifying round at the World Reining Championship, presented by John Deere, today at the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games. The top qualifying score of 217.5 went to Great Britain’s Lee Rutter, riding Setting Off Sparks, while his countryman Doug Allen with Don Julio Whiz had the second-highest score of 216.5.

Twenty horses were given this second chance at qualifying for Thursday’s individual finals. Sixteen horse-and-rider teams had already qualified by posting high marks during the team reining competition.

Other riders qualifying Tuesday included Fredrik Thomsson of Sweden, marking the first time his country has ever sent a rider to the individual finals. Australia’s Warren Backhouse and the Netherlands’ Hubertus Heule rounded out the qualifiers.

Anneli Silverstope, the Swedish chef d’equipe, was thrilled about the historic qualification. “I was sitting up there [in the stands] and was so nervous for Fred, counting the riders and [thinking)] ,’oh, I hope, I hope,’ and I did make a text just to make it clear that he is in the finals. When we knew he was, I just texted away, and I hope it’s all over Sweden now,” she said.

Riders who qualified for the individual finals during the team reining competition are:

Shawn Flarida, USA, riding RC Fancy Step
Stefano Massignan, Italy, riding Yellow Jersey
Tom McCutcheon, USA, riding Gunners Special Nite
Bernard Fonck, Belgium, riding BA Reckless Chick
Craig Schmersal, USA, riding Mister Montana Nic
Duane Latimer, Canada, riding Dun Playin Tag
Sylvia Rzepka, Germany, riding Doctor Zip Nic
Rudolf Kronsteiner, Austria, riding Einsteins Revolution
Grischa Ludwig, Germany, riding Hot Smokin Chex
Tim McQuay, USA, riding Hollywoodstinseltown
Martin Mühlstätter, Austria, riding Wimpys Little Buddy
Ann Poels, Belgium, riding Whizdom Shines

Rieky Young-Van Osch, the Netherlands, riding Burnt Starlight

Shawna Sapergia, Canada, riding This Chics On Top
Wellington Jesus Teixeira, Brazil, riding SJ Rodopio
Martin Larcombe, Australia, riding Top Prize Prince
The individual finals will be at 1 p.m. on Thursday.

Sponsored By

Sponsored By AbitaNet AbitaNet Corporation